Gifts

Often lately I find myself pulling over
ever so suddenly to the side of the road,
leaping from my still running vehicle
to take a photograph
of a thing that is too beautiful to pass by.

We are all more charming
and interesting because of our imperfections,
our mistakes.
A rare coin with a flaw is worth so much more
than one of many perfect versions.

I receive odd looks from passersby,
but most hurry quickly back to their daily migration.

So many gifts dropped in our paths.
I try to pay attention,
to notice,
and place them one by one
carefully into my pocket.

One thought on “Gifts

Leave a Reply

